300-Word Justification

My brother is the most important person in my life.

My brother is the most important person in my life. I would not be who I am today without him. Today, we live in a much more understanding and compassionate world that we did even 100 years ago. At that time, I’m sure that someone with his traits would not have survived very long. You see, my brother Ravi is autistic, has Tourette’s syndrome, epilepsy, asthma and ADHD.

I’ve always thought of myself as a teacher and a damn good one. The secret of my success: patience. Where do you think I learned it? From Ravi, my brother. When dealing with someone who has autism, patience is the best trait you can have, as well as the ability to break complex tasks into very quick and short instructions. This is also great for people with ADHD since they have trouble retaining complex things.

Compassion is the other main trait. I have a higher tolerance and understanding of more people thanks to my training with him. This makes me a better person as well as a better teacher. The number of times I’ve pointed out to others an observation about someone with a disability or how one can deal with someone who has them has been invaluable. It makes all of us better people.

My parents may have raised me, but they may have done it differently had my brother turned out "normal". No thanks.

So, you see, if I didn’t have Ravi in my life, there would be a lot more suffering in the world today. The people whose lives I’ve touched would not be as enlightened nor would the lives they touch. Everything happens for a reason and it’s important that we not only make ourselves better, but those around us that make it better.

Powered by Plinky

By TantienHime Posted in Blog

One comment on “300-Word Justification

  1. Pingback: An Early Christmas Story At My House | TantienHime's Blog

Leave a Reply

